Results from the local election 2022

The results are in for the 2022 local election in Runnymede where 14 of the 41 seats in our Borough were up for election.

Six were won by the Conservative Party, two by the Labour and Co-operative Party, two by Independents, two by Runnymede Independent Residents’ Group, one by the Liberal Democrats, and one by the Green Party. The result is that Runnymede remains a Conservative majority Council. You can find further information on the election results on our website

The previous Council line up was:

Conservative: 25

Labour: 1

Liberal Democrat: 3

Runnymede Independent Residents' Group: 6

Runnymede Residents & Community Group: 2

Independent Group: 3

There was one vacant seat in New Haw following the sad death of Councillor Mark Maddox.

The new share of seats is:

Conservative: 24

Labour: 3

Liberal Democrat: 3

Runnymede Independent Residents' Group: 6

Green Party: 1

Independent Group: 3

Independent: 1

The new or re-elected councillors are:

  • Steven Ringham, Green Party, Addlestone North
  • Jonathan Wilson, Conservative Party, Addlestone South
  • Shannon Saise-Marshall, Conservative Party, Chertsey Riverside
  • Dolsie Vaughan Clarke, Conservative Party, Chertsey St Ann’s
  • James Rhys Davies, Labour and Co-operative Party, Egham Hythe
  • Samuel Geoffrey, Runnymede Independent Residents’ Group, Egham Town
  • Andrea Berardi, Independent, Englefield Green East
  • Abby King, Labour and Co-operative Party, Englefield Green West
  • Sylvia Whyte, Liberal Democrat, Longcross, Lyne & Chertsey South
  • Vanda Cunningham, Conservative Party, New Haw
  • Malcolm Cressey, Independent, Ottershaw
  • Linda Gillham, Runnymede Independent Residents’ Group, Thorpe
  • Jonathan Hulley, Conservative Party, Virginia Water
  • Max Darby, Conservative Party, Woodham and Row Town

They will join the existing councillors:

  • Robert Bromley and Jim Broadhead, both Conservative, Addlestone North
  • John Furey and Peter Snow, both Conservative, Addlestone South
  • Stephen Dennett and Derek Cotty, both Conservative, Chertsey Riverside
  • Myles Willingale and Mark Nuti, both Conservative, Chertsey St Ann’s
  • Alex Balkan, Conservative and Robert King, Labour and Co-operative, Egham Hythe
  • Siân Williams and Isabel Mullens, both Runnymede Independent Residents’ Group, Egham Town
  • Marisa Heath, Conservative, Englefield Green East
  • Nick Prescot and Nigel King, both Conservative, Englefield Green West
  • Theresa Burton and Don Whyte, both Liberal Democrat, Longcross, Lyne & Chertsey South
  • Stephen Walsh and Jacqui Gracey, both Conservative, New Haw
  • Carl Mann and John Olorenshaw, both Independent, Ottershaw
  • Margaret Harnden and Elaine Gill, both Runnymede Independent Residents’ Group, Thorpe
  • David Coen and Chris Howorth, both Conservative, Virginia Water
  • Scott Lewis and Tom Gracey, both Conservative, Woodham & Row Town

Returning Officer, Paul Turrell said, we would like to thank everyone who came out today and voted, and everyone who voted via post or proxy. I’d also like to thank the candidates who took the time to campaign and put themselves forward for election.

Published: 6 May 2022