General election: New MPs announced

Ben spencer and jack rankin
Ben Spencer and Jack Rankin

The General Election took place on Thursday this week, and the two MPs representing Runnymede have now been announced.

The election to select the new MP for the Runnymede and Weybridge parliamentary constituency took place on 4 July 2024.

The election results are as follows:

CRESSEY Michael Kenneth, Independent: 518 votes

KING Robert Ashley, Labour and Co-Operative: 9963 votes

MACKAY Stewart Mark, Reform UK 6419 votes

NICHOLSON Ellen, Liberal Democrats: 10815 votes

RINGHAM Steven Lee, Green Party: 1954 votes

SPENCER, Ben, Conservative Party: 18442 votes

WOOD Nicholas, United Kingdom Independence Party: 142 votes

This means that Dr Ben Spencer is returned as the MP for the Runnymede and Weybridge constituency.

More details and statistics are available here:

The election to select the new MP for the Windsor constituency, which includes the Englefield Green and Virginia Water areas of Runnymede borough was held on 4 July. This election was conducted by Windsor and Maidenhead Council. 

The new MP for the Windsor Constituency is Jack Michael Rankin, Conservative Party.

Details of the votes received by each candidate, turnout and more information can be found here:

MPs and the Council

The elected MPs for both constituencies are not employed by or connected to Runnymede Borough Council and the Council cannot answer questions about their work or tell them to contact you. You will be able to find their contact details via the House of Commons website or by calling 020 7219 4272.

Published: 5 July 2024