For accessibility information on this site use accesskey "0"
Skip Navigation and go straight to the main content or use use accesskey "s"

Runnymede Borough Council header
Councillors Introduction

After the elections held on 3 May 2012 the balance of the Council is:

  • 34 Conservatives
  • 6 Runnymede Independent Residents' Group (RIRG)
  • 1 UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • 1 Independent

Leader of the Council: Cllr Patrick Roberts
Deputy Leader of the Council: Cllr Geoffrey Woodger

Leader of Runnymede Independent Residents' Group: Cllr Margaret Harnden
Deputy Leader of Runnymede Independent Residents' Group: Cllr John Ashmore

The Mayor of Runnymede for 2013-14:  Cllr Yvonna Lay
Deputy Mayor: Cllr Peter Waddell

Runnymede Borough Council has 42 Members (councillors), three of each of the 14 wards, elected to represent the public. One third of the local borough councillors are up for election, on the first Thursday in May, three years out of four. The fourth year is when Surrey County Council elections are held. Councillors undertake official duties in their own time and receive a small allowance, mainly to cover out of pocket expenses.

All 42 councillors (the full Council) meet several times each year. They approve the budget, level of Council Tax, consider a variety of key policy issues and discuss local matters of concern and governance.

To email your councillor use the following format:

Ward map - Use this map to find your councillor

Know your councillors

The Council's decision making process

Committee membership

Runnymede Mayor